Movies that influenced my sense of style (80’s-90’s)

Sarah Jessica Parker in Girls just want to have fun and Olivia Newton in Xanadu, or her leather down in Greese, Cher in clueless, and Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman (both before & after) are all examples of earlier styles that influenced me along the way. A weird accumulation of a skating, dancing, rich, hooker I guess. (Shakes Head)

Pretty Woman, a classic, is not your typical love story and the fashion is everything. Is it weird that I still thought she looked kinda cute in her “hooker attire?” A little trashy but still cute. I like stuff like that, sweaters tied around the waste, crop tops, windbreakers, leg warmers and such. It’s so 90’s. 

Clueless is also a classic, and I love classics. It covers everything from fashion, to friendship, and family. I don’t feel the need to speak on it further, because this is not a review. Those who have seen the movie know that it is timeless, those who haven’t seen it yet i urge you to do so. This is one example of a movie that makes you want to SHOP!

p (16)Even as an adult I am still envious of Cher’s closet. My dream house would have an updated version of one of these. (below)

Clueless is a 1995 American coming-of-age comedy film loosely based on Jane Austen‘s 1815 novel Emma.[4][5] It stars Alicia Silverstone (in the lead role), Stacey Dash, Paul Rudd, and Brittany Murphy.  

Pretty Woman is a 1990 American romantic comedy film directed by Garry Marshall from a screenplay written by J. F. Lawton.”

Earlier Influences: Considering the fact that I was a tomboy I was influenced by the funky fashions of Punky Brewster mixed with Curly sues attitude.

Punky Brewster

PUNKY BREWSTER — SEASON 1 — Pictured: Soleil Moon Frye as Penelope ‘Punky’ Brewster (Photo by NBC/NBCU Photo Bank via Getty Images)

I still don’t like tights hahaha

One can only wish for a shopping spree like this…in the movie blank check. Another classic for all the young entrepreneurs out there …

4 thoughts on “Movies that influenced my sense of style (80’s-90’s)

    • sbwritingsite says:

      Doesn’t it! Classic. Must admit shopping can be therapeutic, but would need a closet like Clair’s when I am done. I found it funny how even with a comp to organize her closet she still couldn’t find her skirt or shirt was it? However, that’s something every female can relate to.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

