My Sister’s Keeper- (review)

Over all this movie was fantastic. Although, I hate to admit I haven’t cried like that in awhile. Good therapy. Even the introduction was amazing, very direct and even found a way to include some humor in it.

It starts with the youngest sister Anna played by Abigail Breslin, who is an amazing actor. You might know her as the niece from No Reservations or the daughter from Definitely, Maybe, along with a list of other great movies. Any who, she spoke about how most pregnancies were not planned, but are more so coincidences, “products of drunken evenings and lack of birth control.” She goes on to explain that the only woman whom plan pregnancies are those who have trouble conceiving. Strong opening prospective from an opinionated eleven year old. She was a genetically engineered baby, conceived for the sole purpose to save her sister. Spare parts as she called it. 

The father Nick Cassavetes, you may know from the award winning movie Sleepers. It was kind of distracting when he was narrating certain parts, because that’s all I could think about. He plays the voice of reasoning within his family in this movie.

Cameron Diaz is getting old, She is playing mom roles now, that makes me feel like I am getting old too, but she nailed it. The over-bearing, possessive, can’t let go mother to a fault. One scene in particular she went full Demi Moore in G.I. Jane, by shaving her hair off to make her daughter feel beautiful again. One of my favorite parts of the movie

While I was watching I couldn’t help but wonder if this was based on a true story. If so where is this family from? even in the movie, did it say? I can’t remember. I am thinking either New York or Massachusetts seeing as they used words like “broad.” I would like to know.

Katie played by Sofia Vassilieva, suffering from terminal cancer. She was the older sister Anna was born to look after. Unlike other movies the director did a great job at capturing the good, bad , and ugly of this experience. He din’t just promote her in a sympathizing light as a victim or patient but instead as a normal teenager with tantrums, insecurities, and more importantly feelings. She found love in a hopeless place. Yeah, I just quoted Rihanna, but no other line seem fit.

Some of my favorite lines from the movies came from her love scenes with Taylor, Katie’s boyfriend. I truly believe that there is someone for everyone and as Katie said, its kinda like they matched. He too was terminally ill, and dying from cancer. He was her equal, one who truly understood what she was going through, and for a moment they went through it together. I don’t want to spoil the movie, but their love story was a whole other story within itself.

Taylor- “if it weren’t for cancer I would have never met you”

Here I go telling the whole movie so let me stop, but I will say this much I have added Montana onto my bucket list. I feel the need to go now. If you have seen the movie then you understand why.

Fun Fact: Upon the original creation of the film adaptation, sisters Dakota Fanning and Elle Fanning were cast to play Kate and Anna respectively. However, when Dakota heard that she would be required to shave her head for the role, she dropped out of the film as then did Elle. The two sisters were replaced, with Abigail Breslin taking on the lead role as Anna Fitzgerald and Sofia Vassilieva on the role of Kate Fitzgerald.[2]

My Sisters’s Keeper is a 2009 American drama film directed by Nick Cassavetes and starring Cameron Diaz, Abigail Breslin, Sofia Vassilieva, and Alec Baldwin. Based on Jodi Picoult‘s novel of the same name,[1] My Sister’s Keeper was released in the United States, Canada, Ireland, Mexico, and the United Kingdom on June 26, 2009.

5 thoughts on “My Sister’s Keeper- (review)

    • sbwritingsite says:

      One of my favorite parts was when her mother played by Cameron Diaz shaved her hair to make her daughter feel more beautiful and not alone. Originally, Dakota Fanning and her sister were to play the parts of the two sisters but when Dakota fanning found out she would have to shave her hair she backed out. It said a lot about Cameron Diaz character inside the movie & out to do that.

      Liked by 1 person

      • SeeQuinn says:

        It definitely shows what a brilliant person Cameron Diaz is, and that was a very special moment in the film. Dakota Fanning did shave her hair (or cut it really short) years later in a film called ‘Now Is Good’ from the book ‘Before I Die’. She shouldn’t have been so protective over her looks, because she looked very nice afterwards.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

